The Bear and the Travelers

Two Travelers were on the road together, when a Bear suddenly appeared on the scene. Before he observed them, one made for a tree at the side of the road, and climbed up into the branches and hid there. 

The other was not so nimble as his companion; and, as he could not escape, he threw himself on the ground and pretended to be dead. The Bear came up and sniffed all around him, but he kept perfectly still and held his breath; for they say that a bear will not touch a dead body. The Bear took him for a corpse, and went away. When the coast was clear, the Traveler in the tree came down, and asked the other what it was the Bear had whispered to him when he put his mouth to his ear. The other replied, “He told me never again to travel with a friend who deserts you at the first sign of danger.”

Moral of the story:

Misfortune tests the sincerity of friendship

I’m a city girl — LA is where my heart is — I went to college in Santa Cruz and still wondered how I survived to this day. I saw animals there that I normally wouldn’t see in the city. A lot of my friends know that me and camping should never go into the same sentence (LOL) because if I could barely handle being in an area full of deer, mountain lions, snakes, raccoons, etc., what makes me think I would want to go in an area with all of those animals INCLUDING BEARS?! Yeah, I get joked on about that in good fun; however, when I read that Fable it made me not only laugh but it also made me think about who I could really trust in the moment of misfortune? Take a moment to think about that and ask yourself, “Who really has my back during the hard times?” If you’re paying a lot of attention to someone who willingly leaves you hangin’ in a moment of despair, are they really your friend? Are they being really sincere? Are you paying attention to that “friend” more than someone who had your back since Day 1? I’ve been guilty of it, we all have; however, tell your sincere friends how much you appreciate them for being in your life. I ❤ my friends who have been there for me through all of my ups and downs and they know I will do the same for them. Good read today. 

Deuces!

Leave a Reply

