Goodbye 2012 and HELLO 2013!!

I have not recorded an entry in a LONG time, too long! Man life happens, that’s all I can say.

But reflecting back on 2012, if I had a theme for this past year, I would say it’s the theme of discovery. To discover means to find something (or someone) unexpectedly or in the course of a search or just merely becoming aware of a fact or situation.

Reflecting back on 2012, I have discovered a lot about myself and others. One major discovery was that I felt validated that I found my calling and my passion, which is to empower the youth through education, to encourage them to explore in the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) fields, to continue being a part of a village that raises a child. I completed my student teaching practicum with an awesome Master Teacher / friend. Through those ups and downs, I developed great friendships with others who have gone through the struggle and are able to help guide me through the perils of being a student teacher transitioning into a full time teacher.

2012 gave me an opportunity to step on the other side of things and gain a new perspective, I learned that there were people who were in my life that necessarily did not need to be there. It gave me an opportunity to open my eyes and become aware of some things that were happening. At a certain point, I became sick and tired of doing right by the wrong people. As a result, I had to cut that loose and focus on the people that were in my life for good reasons. With the losses I developed wonderful friendships with new people! For that, I’m thankful.

One major thing I discovered was how much I DISLIKE CHANGE! But change is good for me. At times, I got stuck in a routine, became comfortable with that…but when a wrench was thrown, it was hard for me to cope. Definitely when I was searching for a new job. The wrench was that I did not really have a job to fall back on if I did not find a teaching job. If I didn’t find a teaching job I was going to have to move back to SoCal for a while, which was the LAST thing I wanted to do. Talk about stress…then everything worked out. The lesson…I cannot stress about things that are not in my control…if the change is out of my hands, I have to go with the flow and have a positive outlook while maintaining the faith that everything will be okay.

2012 marked the 10 year anniversary of my mother’s passing. It was pretty difficult to look back on 10 years of not having her physically here with me. There were many times that I wanted her to be here with me to go through some of the hard times…but I still had an awesome support system that were there for me during those times, and I am highly appreciative of the friends and family that are in my support network.

Overall, looking back on last year, 2012 was a good year…witnessed life changing moments of some of my close friends such as weddings and babies…I graduated…I started my new career…I brought closure on some things that I was holding onto for a long time…

2013 will be a great year!

Leave a Reply

