Mother’s Day 2011

This was the 8th Mother’s Day that I spent without my mom, who you know passed in 2002 of Breast Cancer. I’m not going to lie, it was pretty hard, like it is every year. Yes, I do know that my mother is looking down on me and is proud of all of my accomplishments and success, and how her spirit is living within me. At the same time it’s hard not being able to hug my mom physically anymore, and celebrate Mother’s Day with her by taking her out to dinner or a movie for example. Losing my mom at 17 was one of the hardest things I had to go through, and I am still going through it. I had to grow up fast and stop being a child…make grown up decisions at a time where I’m supposed to just worry about moving out of the house. But I am thankful she taught me how to be a strong and independent woman who is more than capable of making a decision on her own. Her actions of many sacrifices and perseverance showed me that.

I appreciate the calls and words of encouragement and prayers from my friends and family who took the time out celebrating their mothers to think of me. It showed me, and my mom that I am okay because I have a strong support network in my life. I can’t say that it gets easier as the years go on, but what I CAN say is that I come out at the end of the day with a lesson to reflect upon. For that, I am grateful.

-LT

One thought on “Mother’s Day 2011

  1. You blessed with an amazing mother that gave you life lessons. And I was blessed that she gave me my sis.

Leave a Reply

